RSS

Week 1 of Finding Water

04 Sep
Working on Finding Water

Working on Finding Water

Uncovering a Sense of Optimism

Julia Cameron starts this week off with the mantra that “you’re never to old to be young at heart, never to old to be a beginner.” I agree wholeheartedly with that, as a matter of fact, in the past few years I’ve began several new things (creating art again, writing a novel, making YT videos, my own website, created a group on FB with three other women, and am now working on three major creative projects). 😀

Cameron goes on to say, “To begin, resign from competition, stop comparing yourself to your idols,” and to that I also add to your old self and to your future self. In the Divining Rod section of this portion she asks you write about your deferred dream(s). Here are a few of mine:

  • Take a watercolor class
  • Finish my novel (completely)
  • Publish my novel
  • Take a photography course/class
  • Go to a writer’s workshop and a writer’s retreat
  • Take a cruise with my husband

When I thought about what I’d have to do to make some of those things happen I knew the answer immediately…Money. Some of that isn’t feasible right now, but there are other things I can do that are. I can research free watercolor classes, free photography classes. I can write every day and work on my novel… (I’m working on that currently).

She also asks write down a list of people you can go to for encouragement:

Friends, husband, DM group, family… I’m not naming names here… 😀

Now we’re to the focusing portion, and the big thing here is to “take time to see,” which means to take the time to really look at the world around you. Taking time to smell and see the roses. 😀 She says, “I must work to husband my own optimism. I must cling to the small and positive.” The Divining Rod for this section says to make a list of 5 beautiful things you’ve recently spotted.

  1. My grandson’s smile.
  2. The sight of my husband taking the time to make me coffee before he went to work.
  3. The sunrise after the storm
  4. The blush roses in my rose garden blooming with dew still on their leaves.
  5. A bird on my clothesline singing.

Grounding: “What I am doing still matters in the scheme of things…Optimism is partially the happy accident…” and my favorite part of this section: “The doing of something productive regardless of outcome is an act of faith…just do the next right thing.” Believe you can and you will mentality. The Divining Rod section here made me realize just how often I turn to simples tasks to ground myself:

  1. doing dishes
  2. making coffee
  3. taking a shower
  4. taking walk
  5. folding laundry

Possibilities: She says, “Learn to try…learn to act affirmatively.” and that “wherever creativity is afoot, so is blossoming.” But my favorite part is this: In order to make art we must be willing to labor…to reach inside and draw forth what we find there…it begins with possibilities.”

It’s is possible to do things.. You say… “Oh… It is possible that I can write a novel.” And then the notion of well “I can” becomes “I think I’ll try.”

  • I could try writing poems again.
  • I could try (again) to learn the new video editing software.
  • I could try to put the flooring in the kitchen down myself.
  • I could try writing short stories again.
  • I could try creating my own Tn folder/pocket dashboard things.
  • I could try making my own facial scrub…

The CHECK-IN

  1. I did Morning Pages 6 out of 7 days. I wasn’t feeling well on one of those days and went to bed really early. It helps clear my head when I do them, and the only repeating issue is that I noticed I need to slow down… I need to take a little time for me and make sure that I use the time for my Morning Pages as a more of a meditation thing as well.
  2. I did my artist date. I actually did more than one. I took two nature walks just to enjoy the outdoors, and I went on a coffee/hot chocolate date with my grandson and we created art. 😀 I felt much better after all of those things.
  3. I walked multiple times during the week. I took a longer walk one day, but the other days I walked for 20 minutes. So 4 walking days out of 7. It felt good, and I enjoyed the fresh air and sunshine. I also spent 10 minutes walking around in the rain–for fun, before the storm here got bad.
  4. I need to remember that it’s okay to ask for help.

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Week 1 of Finding Water

  1. bonitarose

    September 4, 2016 at 7:28 pm

    nice post.. thks for sharing… interesting how you said you have to remember that it’s OK to ask for help. I’ recently did that, and well .. got slammed for it… but that’s ok.. I’m staying silent for now. I just don’t wanna share any more right now. I hope you had a wonderful Sunday.. you are a real inspiration to me. You really are. The group is such a great thing .. glad you started it and did what was on your heart. xo

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
