RSS

The Universe is speaking, and I’m listening

30 Apr

Just when I thought I was getting things together, especially in regard to my writing, I got hit with a bout of fear (procrastination, self-doubt, distractions, stress, anxiety…). And it waited until I won Camp NaNoWriMo to hit me. Though I did need a break from writing yesterday–I’d stayed up until a little after three in the morning Tuesday night to write, and I got up early Wednesday morning.

Today I was feeling those feelings of fear creep into my mind…You might as well just put the novel in the drawer and not worry about finishing it–you know it sucks! Or, oh, look it’s a shiny new idea…Or, just forget about writing, why don’t you go read a book, watch Netflix, draw a picture…you know you’re never going to be published, find something else to do…

I wrote my morning pages this morning and felt good. First thing on my “to-do” list done. Next thing, done.

And now, it’s the next day… So much for getting this blog post up.

But I’ve been busy. Listening to the Universe…

The Universe has spoken…Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain…

Seriously though, the Universe has been speaking to me. I am going to start Julia Cameron’s “The Right to Write,” on May 1st.  The descripton for the book on Amazon says:

What if everything we have been taught about learning to write was wrong? In The Right to Write, Julia Cameron‘s most revolutionary book, the author of the bestselling self-help guideThe Artist’s Way, asserts that conventional writing wisdom would have you believe in a false doctrine that stifles creativity. With the techniques and anecdotes in The Right to Write, readers learn to make writing a natural, intensely personal part of life. Cameron’s instruction and examples include the details of the writing processes she uses to create her own bestselling books. She makes writing a playful and realistic as well as a reflective event. Anyone jumping into the writing life for the first time and those already living it will discover the art of writing is never the same after reading The Right to Write.

A few other writers are joining me in this quest and I’ll be posting my thoughts via this blog every other day or so, and on YT on Wednesdays. You’ll be able to find more posts via this #therighttowritewednesdays, since Wednesday’s are the days I usually post Writerly related videos. 😀

I hope you’ll join me. I’ll also be posting about how I’m taking back my life by trying to be a healthier, more fit me. On Friday’s I’ll have “Fitness Friday” videos, and on Monday’s… Well, that’s my coffee chat video. And on Sunday’s I’m going to start sharing my art journal/bullet journal pages.

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “The Universe is speaking, and I’m listening

  1. Marna R.

    May 1, 2016 at 5:36 pm

    Hi Burgess!
    I’ll be one of those writers joining you.
    Unfortunately I won’t be able to do vlogs as it’s too much of a hassle – going on vacation for 2 months (May and June).

    But I’m hoping to compensate with short daily blogs. I’ll pop through watching vids and waiting for blog updates from you. Stay strong! FINISH THE NOVEL. You can do this!!

    Like

     
    • Burgess Taylor

      May 3, 2016 at 1:17 am

      Thank you. Glad to have you. I will be blogging every other day or so and vlogging on Wednesday’s. Though I just did the Intro video for Monday’s Coffee Chat video. I am working on the novel now📑🍷

      Like

       
  2. boom beach hack download

    June 25, 2016 at 6:05 pm

    I’d have to check with you here. Which is not something I normally do!
    I appreciate reading a post which will make people think. Additionally, thanks for allowing me
    to comment!

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
