RSS

NaNoWriMo Preparations Part 1b

28 Sep

I’ve particpated in quite a few NaNoWriMo’s. With each NaNoWriMo I’ve learned something new. I’ve learned what doesn’t work for me, as well as what does. I’ve also learned that I need an unlimited supply of some type of coffee, whether it’s hot or cold. I also need snacks, healthy and non-healthy. And I also have to exercise–get out of the chair and away from my desk and move around.

One of the most important lessons I’ve learned though is that I am not a hardcore outliner, at least not using the “plot” method of ouline. I’ve tried Save the Cat, the Marshall Plan, using beat sheets, spread sheets, index cards, a storyboard (on paper, in Scrivener, and on my wall), and too many other methods to list. I’m not a plot based writer. I’m a character based writer. I’m also more of a loose outliner. I need to leave some things to my imagination–I need to pants a few things so that I don’t get bored, so that I feel the creativite juices stirring and my muse is inspired.

The Hero’s Journey is more or less about the main character (or the hero’s) journey, which seems perfect for the way I write. I toyed around with using the Hero’s Journey and a Plot Method (or three) together, trying to merge the two, and that didn’t work out so well for me. I decided to try just using the Hero’s Journey to write my novel for NaNoWriMo this November. I went so far as to purchase Arwen Lynch’s 33 Days to Finish Your Book (outlining using the hero’s journey and tarot) eCourse. I’m on the third day and loving it so far.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 28, 2015 in NaNoWriMo, Writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
