RSS
Image

Why, Thank you?

26 Aug

Daily Prompt: What’s the best (or rather, worst) backhanded compliment you’ve ever received? If you can’t think of any — when’s the last time someone paid you a compliment you didn’t actually deserve?

Backhanded compliments come in all shapes and sizes, but for me most of the ones I get have to do with my hair. My hair is extremely curly. People have often asked me “Why don’t you wear your hair straight?” Like I can change my hair like people change their shirts. It’s not quite that easy to make my curly hair straight, but I do use a flat iron and straighten it sometimes. The backhanded compliments still come: “WOW! Your hair looks so good this way…you look ten years younger…I love your hair, why don’t you wear it like this all the time?…

33728_164360163588506_3594015_n 134028_502911826400003_559887082_o 219814_215153881842467_7722394_o 219880_216966001661255_5081004_o 271219_234689496555572_1142277_o IMG_0248

 

Truth is, it took me a long time to figure out what to do with my unruly mane of curls. Years of trying to have straight hair like everyone else back in the 80s when big hair was the thing, if only I’d known back then what I know now, I’d have been rocking my mane. Instead I was trying to wear hairstyles that were simply not going to work for someone with thick, curly hair.

I am the one on the right with the striped white shirt, fuzzy curly short hair, and dark blue shorts with my elbow bent…

pic with granddaddy in lamar

I am the one with the dark curly hair in the purple shirt… See all the other ones with blond hair… those are my cousins.,,

me with fuschia hair

Me with fuchsia hair…

me with short red hair

Me with short red highlighted hair

long dark curly hair

long dark curly hair…

me with curls and hat

I love hats…

People who have straight hair want curly hair, people who have curly hair want straight hair, people with thick hair wish it was at least a little thinner, people with thin hair wish it was thicker…Truthfully, I’ve had people tell me my curls are beautiful and not to straighten my hair, and there are those who think the opposite. All of the pictures above were taken over the past 4 years.  And just so we know what my hair looks like currently here are a few pics… I’ve quit coloring my hair… Letting the white streak grow uut… I’m tired of coloring my hair, besides my husband thinks the white streak is sexy…

IMG_2579 IMG_2565

And this is me now…The one on the left was taken yesterday, the one on the right was taken the day before… Same me, just different hairstyles… So you tell me…My hair is a good bit longer when it’s straight, but it’s still me…And I’m one rocking, 47 year old grandma…

 
7 Comments

Posted by on August 26, 2014 in Color, Daily Prompt, Life

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Why, Thank you?

  1. prekshaaa

    August 27, 2014 at 4:54 am

    Wow! You have such defined curls! And you look beautiful in both straight as well as curly hair 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Burgess Taylor

      August 27, 2014 at 1:26 pm

      Thanks. My husband says the same thing… Whereas I’ve had other people tell me not to straighten it or to straighten it, which is kind of aggravating to say the least.

      Like

       
      • prekshaaa

        August 27, 2014 at 11:48 pm

        Yeah i know, it can feel very bad….ive been through phases like that too where i think why dont people mind their own damn buisness?!

        Liked by 1 person

         
  2. supergirl2000

    September 20, 2014 at 3:07 pm

    I have super curly hair as well. I personally love my curls, which I hear is a rarity for curly headed ladies. I straighten my curls about 3-4 times a year, but it takes soo long and it’s not exactly healthy.

    I think your hair looks great (straight or curly). It always irritated me when people told me I need to or should straighten it. Now I just smile and say I do…when I feel like it. ;p

    Like

     
    • Burgess Taylor

      September 21, 2014 at 11:36 pm

      Same here. I straighten my hair about once or twice a month. And for 3 days I enjoy brushing it, and it’s great for my scalp, but the rest of the time I wear it straight. There are a number of people who don’t recognize me when it’s straight until they’re right in front of me. 😀
      Personally, I like having the option to wear it straight if I choose. My poor mom’s hair won’t hold a curl at all unless she perms it, my curls came from my father.
      And I’ve encountered people who told me I should never straighten my hair and those who say I should wear it straight all the time… Not happening either way.

      Like

       
  3. shanjeniah

    September 23, 2014 at 11:55 pm

    I have thick waves, and love your curly curls. You also rock the straight nd colored and white streaked looks!

    I think it has a lot more to do with the woman under the hair!

    I think it’s odd that anyone would think it’s OK to tell someone else how to wear their hair….

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
