RSS

Letting myself get distracted, procrastinate, etc…

05 Aug

I’ve been thinking about why I allow myself to become distracted when writing. I’ll be in the middle of a sentence or paragraph and an idea will come into my brain from nowhere–did I take something out for dinner, is the coffee pot still on, did the mail run yet…And once my mind goes off on that tangent I’m not into the writing zone anymore. I’ve zoned out.

When I zone out of the writing because of a block I usually take that time to check FB, WP Reader, Twitter, etc.. At least that’s what I used to do. I just got back on social media after a brief hiatus.

So what causes it? Why am I allowing myself to become distracted by random thoughts or blocked at certain points when writing? I think it’s because I’m at a pivotal place in my writing. A spot that feels a little hairy…Like maybe I’ve got writer’s distraction or writer’s block because I’m afraid, because I don’t think I’ll be able to pull off that part. I don’t know. All I do know is that I’m the one allowing it. I’m the one doing it to myself.

I thought that taking a break from social media would help, and it did, to a point. But it’s not the social media, it’s me. I’m allowing it to happen. Sure, I could blame it on the ADHD, and in part that’s part of the problem but the rest of the problem is that I need to take control of my writing. I need to put myself out there and believe in myself as a writer. I need to sit my ass in that chair and write, even if it’s complete and utter crap until I find the zone, figure out a way to work with my ADHD instead of against it, and find a way to use social media to my advantage, but not let it interfere with my writing.

(I’ll let you know how that goes over the next week, I’m sure you’ll see a post or two on FB, a tweet on Twitter, or something. 😀 )

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 5, 2014 in Life, Writing

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Letting myself get distracted, procrastinate, etc…

  1. timofeevbooks

    August 11, 2014 at 9:20 am

    I get distracted all the time, especially when I come to a crucial point in my stories. I would have to agree that it’s the fear that holds me back. When I finished my first story I had this brief moment of panic. It’s one thing to write a story, there’s no real commitment there but to finish one with plans on publishing….well that’s a whole different animal.

    Like

     
  2. cgcoppola

    August 14, 2014 at 11:04 am

    Every once in a while something distracts me too, but it’s because I let it. I’m so consumed with reality that I’m not giving my writing the focus and attention it needs. Life is going to be hectic but you need to find a way to shut it out. Black out everything that is not you in the world you created. I know that sounds like, super easy, and it’s not. And I know you know it’s not. But I think that’s what it is. Reality trying to but into creativity. Just say, “shut up random thoughts! I will return to you in an hour/two hours/whenever I’m finished writing.” And that’s the other thing. Make a block of time to do your writing and only do that. ONLY WRITE. Everything else can wait for an hour/two hours, whenever. Hopefully that will help. Keep writing!

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
