RSS

Outlining for Camp

24 Mar

??????????????????????????????

As April approaches I am busy outlining my novel for Camp. It’s called Revelations: Book 1 of the Elioud Legacy. It’s a working title. I’m not sure I like the word Legacy,  (And I need a different picture but that was courtesy of a fellow Nanoer and II’m grateful I have a bookcover. It’s all a work-in-progress.) I’ve been thinking of something else… But we’ll see. I like color coding. I also like the way that you can use the outliner mode in Scrivener. For the first time I am actually putting word count targets for each chapter scene, and section (Part). I know I’ll need to edit, and things will change, but it gives me an idea of what scenes and chapters I’ll need to work on more later down the road.

OutlineI would love to have the majority of it planned out by March 31st. One of my favorite things about Scrivener, is that in the inspector you can put a synopsis for each part, chapter, scene… and it shows up in the corkboard, as well as in the ouline mode. There’s also the project and document notes, which come in handy when there’s an age, date, fact, etc that I need to remember.

Don’t get me wrong, Scrivener doesn’t write the novel for you, but it is magical in a sense. At least to me it is. It allows me to put all of my research notes within my project or I can create a story bible, which I have for the actual Elioud Legacy series. I’ve often thought about how I’d love to switch to Mac, when I can afford to, but honestly, by the time I can afford to I’m pretty sure the Windows version of Scrivener will have hopefully caught up with the Mac version by then.

On a side note…My husband had an interview this morning and got the job. It’s local, so  no more OTR (over the road) anymore. He’ll still be driving a truck, but this one won’t have a 53 foot trailer, but is a roll-back, which is a form of tri-axle (like a big dump truck). Those trucks remind me of the huge yellow Tonka truck my brother and I had as children. GI Barbie often used it to rescue GI Joe and Ken, along with a few other barbies, when I was a child. (As you’ve guessed, my brother and I often played together, and I was determined that Barbie be independent so poor GI Joe was often captured just as much as Barbie was, and they both war camo.) Anyway, at least now my husband will be at home at night and on the weekends and get back into playing his guitar and singing. Perhaps he’ll learn enough new music to start playing acoustic shows again–Rock on!.

Hope everyone had and continues to have a great Monday! I’m going to enjoy my cup of coffee and do some more outlining now that we’ve finished cutting the grass, the yard is clean, dinner’s out of the way, and the laundry is in the washer.

 

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 24, 2014 in Home, Life, NaNoWriMo, Outlining, Scrivener, Writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Outlining for Camp

  1. Cassidy Frazee

    March 24, 2014 at 6:03 pm

    You do the same thing I do with getting a novel set up in Scrivener. I love how once you get all that set aside, all you need to do is write.

    Like

     
    • Burgess Taylor

      March 24, 2014 at 8:38 pm

      Me too. I went from a pantser to a plotter 🙂

      Like

       
      • Cassidy Frazee

        March 24, 2014 at 8:39 pm

        I’ve seen too many pantsers going, “I need a name for this!” or “My novel started out great, and now I can’t figure out where to go! HELP!” and I just keep writing.

        Like

         
      • Burgess Taylor

        March 24, 2014 at 8:43 pm

        I used to plot three mainpoints…beginning middle and end then pants but i am finding that the more i plan the better i do. I still pants a little if something feels right but planning out all the core stuff makes it easier to just write.

        Like

         
      • Cassidy Frazee

        March 24, 2014 at 8:44 pm

        I always tell people I just go off the metadata for what *will* happen, but that doesn’t mean I don’t wing it as I write. Anything can happen in that scene.

        Like

         

Leave a Reply

 
