RSS

Writing (on the road) without internet

03 Mar

For the next week I won’t be able to post anything that requires internet. I’ll be writing, but it won’t be on my blog, not even via my phone. I’ll be back on the road with the husband, my third week in a row out on the road with him, but this week my phone will be out of commission and his phone isn’t a smart phone, so the most I might be able to do with it is FB, which I seriously doubt I’ll bother with. I think this will be my week away from all internet distractions. A hiatus from the WEB.

No FB, no email, no Twitter, no blogging, no Googling, no Instagram….Nada. Just me and my laptop and Scrivener. If we were somewhere out there on the road that had free WIFI I could use the D-Link and gain access to the World WIde Web and peruse the internet all those wonderful distractions, but I do NOT think I will. I think a hiatus from the internet is just what I need to get through this part of my novel.

Sure there are some things I need to research but it can wait until I get back home. Good thing I’m not one of those people who worries about my stats.

Yesterday I was thinking about what we did before the internet. Before FB, Twitter, Instagram, Google, etc… Before cell phones. When we remembered telephone numbers. When we played more board games. When I wrote with a Brother Word Processor and was grateful for it because typing on a manual typewriter is hard work, and so is an electric one when it comes to errors (White Out is helpful but…) and as I thought about writing my term papers on that electric typewriter, which meant using footnotes, and praying you didn’t make any errors because that meant typing the page all over again because my teachers would mark your paper with all kinds of red ink if you used White-Out. I remember when I had to work harder to get a few chapters written but the words came easier in part because I didn’t have so many distractions.

This week I’m going to concentrate on the writing. I’ll miss blogging. I’ll miss FB and Instagram…But I won’t miss being distracted.

Hope everyone has a good week. I’ll catch up with things on the Reader this weekend, and write a few posts. Right now it’s time for me to get some much needed sleep.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 3, 2014 in Life, Scrivener, Traveling, Writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
