RSS

Another Winter Storm in the South

12 Feb
ICE on car and in yard

ICE on car and in yard

It’s raining ice here. Literally. I can hear it outside of the window of my writing room. I have power, which means I have coffee, and I’m hoping I’ll keep power but with all the ice I’m not counting on it. My yard looks like it has snow in it, but it’s mostly ice.

This is ice in our yard not snow; Feb 2014 Winter Storm in South Carolina

This is ice in our yard not snow; Feb 2014 Winter Storm in South Carolina

My husband was leaving Monroe, LA and heading to Arlington, TX. The further he goes West the better. My poor brother-in-law had to drive to work in this mess, and officially, according to Gov Haley, people aren’t supposed to be on the roads, yet there are employers who expect their employees to come to work when every other business is shut down, including some of the roads.

Icicles hanging from car; February 2014 Winter Storm in South Carolina

Icicles hanging from car; February 2014 Winter Storm in South Carolina

So I’m drinking coffee, checking on the news for I-20 which is the route my husband is taking, as well as the news for SC, and hoping I don’t lose power, which will mean no hot coffee, no heater, no computer, especially since UPS delayed the delivery of my new laptop battery (figures), though I can’t blame them. They don’t need to be out on these roads either.

Ice on window... Frozen window. Winter Storm in South Carolina, February 12, 2014

Ice on window… Frozen window. Winter Storm in South Carolina, February 12, 2014

IF I had to go somewhere I’m not sure of how long it would take my poor car to unthaw. It’s covered in ice. Not that I”m going anywhere. If I lose power I have a few people who have trucks I can call to come get me. Many people are without power in SC already. But as long as I have power I’ll be staying right here in my comfy PJ’s drinking coffee and writing.

And drinking coffee....

And drinking coffee….

This is definitely me! Drinking coffee and about to put bagels in the toaster now. Late breakfast.. Hope everyone stays warm and safe 😀

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 12, 2014 in Coffee, Home, Life, Weather, Writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
