RSS

My real writing space

29 Oct

There’s a thread on the NaNoWriMo forums about posting a picture of your writing space…and I went through and looked at the writing spaces and was in awe of quite a few of them. Truth is, mine is a in a corner of my bedroom (for now). I won’t have my own writing room until after the end of December–once my son leaves to go to bootcamp. But until then, I have this:

My writing space IMG_1322

Back in April, my husband moved my writing space from the dining room to our bedroom so I’d have more privacy.

260

Dining room cubby

my little corner 001

Bedroom cubby

IMG_1063 IMG_1065

And here is what it looks like when I’m writing… My husband asleep in our bed as I write Ā šŸ˜€

IMG_1066

 
 

Tags: , , , , , ,

6 responses to “My real writing space

  1. Aussa Lorens

    October 29, 2013 at 4:15 pm

    I’m intrigued to see everyone else’s writing spaces… I tend to write everywhere all over my house though I technically have one room devoted to it.

    Like

     
    • burgesstaylor7911

      October 29, 2013 at 4:33 pm

      Me too.
      My son is borrowing my laptop while his is being repaired so the only place I can write, unless I write by hand, is at my desk. šŸ˜¦ I actually thought about not doing NaNo this November because I wouldn’t have access to my laptop and I wasn’t sure I wanted to write the whole thing at my desktop, which means taking more breaks so I can stretch my legs, but it also means more exercise, more organization, less distractions (like television,etc).

      Like

       
  2. jkholmes92

    October 29, 2013 at 4:18 pm

    Your writing board looks amazing! My writing space is a small corner in the living room. I like it because I don’t think I’d want to be in a room on my own. I like being in the same room as people even if we don’t say a word.

    Like

     
    • burgesstaylor7911

      October 29, 2013 at 4:55 pm

      My husband, when he’s home, will sometimes watch television in our bedroom while I write. He’s there but he won’t distract me unless I start a conversation with him. When my writing space was in the dining room, which is linked to our kitchen and across from our living room, my children, my husband, etc all would walk by and talk to me, or yell from the living room “Can you get me…” or “Are you cooking dinner” or “Why don’t you watch this with us?”…. Too many distractions and no one took my writing seriously. If I feel lonely I’ll play music so I have background noise.

      Like

       
  3. Lisa Shaw

    October 29, 2013 at 8:10 pm

    Every writer needs a room of her own and in independent income, ’tis true. BTW, I recognize that turquoise-covered book on the corner of your desk. šŸ™‚

    Like

     
    • burgesstaylor7911

      October 29, 2013 at 8:44 pm

      Yes… There’s also a dictionary, a thesaurus, a book about historic Charleston, No Plot? No Problem!, Stephen King’s On Writing, and my book journal. My husband is a truck driver and once NaNo is over I’ll be on the rode with him (half the time) with my laptop and camera šŸ˜€ so my writing space will have to be versatile.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
