RSS

In a Strange Land

12 Oct

Today’s Daily Prompt, something I haven’t really done much of on this blog, states: What’s the strangest place from which you’ve posted to your blog? When was the last time you were out and about, and suddenly thought, “I need to write about this!”?

On the road with coffee in hand and saw this...

On the road with coffee in hand and saw this…

A few months ago I wrote a short post while we were traveling west on I-26 towards Columbia. I saw a truck with a coffee slogan on the back and had to take a picture and post it…I posted it on a different blog. I hadn’t started this one yet. I also posted the picture on my FB wall. I couldn’t contain my excitement. I’m an avid coffee lover/fan/addict/consumer…You get my drift. And anyone who knows me–they know how much I love coffee.

A Day without coffee

Coffee mugs. Coffee. The smell of coffee. The fuzzy feelings I get inside when I hold a hot cup of coffee, laced with a lot of sweetener and half & half. I’ll take my sweetener and half & half with coffee please. And this morning, I tried out my new coffee creamer–Pumpkin Spice. After all Fall is in the air around here and I couldn’t help myself.  Maybe that’s the thing…Anything that inspires me: makes me smile, think, question, ponder, even frown is often worth posting about. Me without coffee (or writing, or reading) wouldn’t be me.

Me and my coffee

Me and my coffee

I haven’t been to very many of the 50 states here in the U.S. but I’ve traveled to enough of them to know that as much as I love to travel, there’s no place like home. That feeling you get when you see the landmark that tells you you’re almost home…SIGH. That’s the feeling I get when I drink coffee. Whether I’m drinking a cup in my car on the way to or from somewhere, at home at my kitchen table, at my desk as I write, at some coffee shop somewhere, in a hotel room, at someone else’s house, or wherever I might be.

Welcome to SC

Daily writing prompts are to make you think, to get ideas, to prompt the brain into inspiration, creativity… and this is where this one led me. Now I’m thinking about traveling, which is something I’ll be doing soon enough since my husband, who is a truck driver, will soon be back on the road and I’ll be able to join him soon and I’ll be hitting the road with my camera and laptop in hand. Oh the places I’ll go, the things I’ll see, the coffee I’ll drink.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on October 12, 2013 in Coffee, Daily Prompt, Traveling, Writing

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

6 responses to “In a Strange Land

Leave a Reply

 
