RSS

Still trying to figure out a few things

14 Aug

I’ve created a FB page as an author, though no one likes it except me, of course, and I’m still trying to figure out how to share it when I write a post, as well as how to get the darn widget to actually show up and not be invisible on the damn blog. OH WELL!!! Breathe Burgess. It’ll be alright. You’ll figure it out! 

I’ve wasted over 3 hours doing all of this “branding” crap when I should have spent that time writing the 2000 words that are my goal for today. I’m still trying to work out the kinks. The month of August is a rough one for me anyway since I’m watching my 1 yr old grandson while my daughter works. I love spending the time with him, and it’s a joy watching him learn new things, but he’s busy! and it’s like having a miniature hurricane in residence. I had forgotten how busy they are at that age. Hell, it’s been 21 years since I had a little one around like this.

So now I’m finally off to write my 2K words for today. I’ll post more about outlining, structure, etc. later when I have some free time. It’s been a blast figuring what works for me, maybe sharing that will help someone.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 14, 2013 in Writing

 

Tags:

4 responses to “Still trying to figure out a few things

  1. jhorta

    August 14, 2013 at 12:47 pm

    Hey Burgess. C’mon, give yourself some more credit; I’m following your blog now- lol. So from what I gather, you’re working on developing an author FB page to promote this blog, or for other writing initiatives that you have going on? Personally, I’m just sticking to the blog world for now…

    Like

     
    • burgesstaylor7911

      August 14, 2013 at 12:57 pm

      I had to go back to my personal blog and figure out what I had on it in regard to the “like my FB page” lol! I don’t really get the whole “Branding” thing, I mean as an “author” you are your brand, well your writing is actually your brand…Your books and your name as an author, so to me all you really need is your name out there, which I now have, though my novel is still a work in progress. But at least it’s out there. I wrote a few short stories some thirty years ago that were published when I was in high school, but hell if I can remember what they were published in. And one or two of my poems were published in our college paper, but nothing I’ve ever been paid for. Writing is and always has been my passion, it’s not about money or fame, though it wouldn’t hurt my feelings if I got paid. Thanks for following my blog. It’s definitely a work in progress at this point. The month of August anyway.

      Like

       
      • jhorta

        August 14, 2013 at 1:02 pm

        I’m with ya’. The branding thing drives me crazy b/c u invest all your time writing what you consider high-quality/unique works, but then u have to market & brand yourself like crazy for anyone to read it. Whatever, we just have to keep at it!

        Like

         
  2. jhorta

    August 14, 2013 at 12:49 pm

    Oh, and I’m with you on the aspiring writer gig…I have no credentials whatsoever in this field, but I sure as heck do enjoy it!

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
